Community Preservation Committee

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

About the Committee

The CPC meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:15 pm at the lower level of Town Hall.

The CPC is comprised of nine (9) members. Four (4) seats are At-Large members appointed by the Board of Selectmen per the recommendation of the CPC. The remaining five (5) seats are filled per state CPA statute by representatives from the following town boards: Conservation Commission, Historical Commission, Housing Authority, Open Space & Recreation Committee, and Planning Board.

The Community Preservation Act, “CPA”, MGL Chapter 44B, adopted by the Town of Ashland in 2002, is statewide enabling legislation allowing cities and towns in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to adopt a property tax surcharge which, along with state matching funds, will be used for open space preservation, creation of community housing, preservation of historic buildings and landscapes, and creation of recreation opportunities.

Consistent with the requirements of the CPA, the Community Preservation Committee (CPC) was formed to study the needs, possibilities, and resources of the town regarding community preservation.

The CPC meets monthly to discuss its role as a facilitator to promote community preservation in Ashland and strives to:

• Meet multiple Community Preservation goals in each project

• Be a catalyst for projects

• Be a funding source, not a Developer

• Communicate the CPA mission and goals to the residents of the Town

• Seek input and project ideas from the community

• Utilize community goals articulated in other public documents that have received wide scrutiny and public input

Committee Members

  • Gretchen Bravacos
     Term Expires 8/31/25
     Appointed by Select Board                   to At-Large seat
  • Devin Cashman
    Term Expires 8/31/24
    Appointed by Select Board                  to At-Large seat
  • Patricia Kendall Term                    Expires 8/31/25                              Appointed by Planning Board
  • Aaron Ladd, Chair
    Term Expires 8/31/26
    Appointed by Select Board                    to  At-Large seat

  • Donna Saul
    Term Expires 8/31/25
    Appointed by Select Board                   to At-Large seat
  • Joanna Sorensen
    Term Expires 8/31/25
    Appointed by Historical Commission
  • Catherine M. Van Lancker, Vice Chair
    Term Expires 8/31/25
    Appointed by Conservation Commission
  •  Greg Wands
    Term Expires 8/31/26
    Appointed by Open Space and Recreation Committee
  • Vacancy                                                      Term Expires 8/31/20                Appointed by Housing Authority